top of page
  • Elizabeth Cochran

Nature lover goes to Kanchanaburi, Thailand

I went to a nature lover's dream - Kanchanaburi, Thailand. Kanchanaburi is located in western Thailand is a nature escape and popular tourist attraction. I remember when I got off the bus feeling a breath of fresh air. It smelled of nature and I felt revived. I was ready to take on my weekend adventure exploring all that this town had to offer!


I have learned to not be much of a planner through my travel, it has worked out just fine for me. I end up talking to locals or other travelers when I first arrive to get better details and their opinions. I do my research (usually) before to get an idea of what there is to see. Then I keep it in mind what I would like to see and go from there.


My rough itinerary:


Check into hostel, look for good food, walk around and familiarize myself

Book morning bus to go for hike to the Erawan falls

Enjoy a cafe or museum

Caves

Food market

The infamous River Kwai bridge


I can't remember all the details of this trip, as I traveled here in end of November to December in 2019, but I do remember what I ended up doing. This is definitely one of my favorite places I visited in Thailand. It appeals to backpackers and nature lovers! The perfect trip :)



The biggest event I did while I was there was see the Erawan Falls, which has 7 tiers of waterfalls that you hike to. It was so beautiful and they make sure to keep it clean. I loved that I got to reground in a nature excursion and enjoy beautiful nature.




Here are some pictures from Erawan Falls at the different levels of tiers



I ended up doing most of the things on my itinerary, except for the caves and I didn't see all of the museums. I recommend you to go to Kanchanaburi. It is budget and backpacker friendly. A nature lovers dream and the waterfalls are so nice to swim in and hike to go see.


Pictures below




Here is me on the River Kwai bridge!




bottom of page